Wil Wheatons advice on dealing with Bullies

Wil-Wheaton-918f6

Fans of Star trek will recognize Wil Wheaton and last year at the Denver Comic Con he was asked a question about being called a nerd. Watch his response in this video where he describes that…

When I was a boy I was called a nerd all the time. Because I didn’t like sports, I loved to read, I liked math and science, I thought school was really cool — and it hurt a lot. Because it’s never OK when a person makes fun of you for something you didn’t choose. You know, we don’t choose to be nerds. We can’t help it that we like these things, and we shouldn’t apologize for liking these things.

The most important thing Wheaton said was that…

When a person makes fun of you, when a person is cruel to you, it has nothing to do with you. It’s not about what you said. It’s not about what you did. It’s not about what you love. It’s about them feeling bad about themselves.

This is relevant to just about all forms of online harassment. It applies to cyber bullies and cyber stalkers. They target you because of problems they have. When we understand them they become an object of pity and power is transferred. They lose power over you and you will feel empowered to deal with their harassment.

This video has gone viral as it should and there has been a follow up by the mother of the girl that asked the question on Reddit.

That was my daughter. She and the girl that bullied her are cool with each other this year. They aren’t in the same class, though. This year has been a good year, but she noticed another little girl in her class kept getting picked on by the other students. She became this girl’s friend and stands up for her when the other kids are being mean.

and then a response from Wheaton on his website

I really try my best to be the person I want other people to be. I don’t always succeed, but when I see things like this and hear from people who have been touched or inspired by something I said or did in a positive way, it reminds me how important it is to do everything we can to be awesome.

Originally published http://cyberbullyingandstalkingguide.com/cyberbullyingarticles/wil-wheatons-advice-dealing-bullies/

Leave a Reply

